And here I am…

I want to  share with others witchcraft as I know it. For so long the only information and books I had that actually used the words “witchcraft” and “witch” were all Wiccan sources. And while I enjoyed much of this reading it left me confused and ultimately disconnected. I didn’t feel anything towards the Wiccan religious aspect and so I assumed I was doing everything wrong. Not once did I see any of these sources explain that Wicca and Witchcraft are not the same exact thing. I won’t say that it wasn’t there, I’ll say I never saw it. You can be a Witch and not be Wiccan, and you can be both, but the two words are not the same thing. I was young and I needed it spelled out for me. I nearly gave up because Wiccan rituals and dedications made me feel nothing that I thought it was supposed to, and it felt more like I was acting and memorizing a play. I felt silly. I’m not saying that Wicca is silly, not at all, I have a lot of respect for Wicca and the authors of those books as well. A couple of my favorite books are written by Wiccan authors. I felt silly because I was going through the motions but feeling nothing and continuing to do it. Eventually I had to stop and step away from it all to gain perspective. Years later on down the road instead of feeling silly and fake I then felt alone and empty. I questioned everything, “Now what?” I thought to myself, “This cannot be all that there is and I have so much left inside me.”. I began studying the history of Wicca, Christianity, Mesopotamian Religions, Thelema, Odinism, European, Asian, and Egyptian religions and then back to Wicca and every section of it. I did this for years questioning everything over and over. Wicca has so many beliefs it left my head spinning, that’s not always a bad thing. There’s Monotheism, Duotheism, Polytheism, Pantheism, Agnosticism, and Atheism. And then Dianic, Gardnerian, Asatru, Odinism……Help is what I cried out inside! I had to just stop it all. I stopped practicing all forms of magick for awhile. I stopped trying to find a name to what religion I was. I just stopped and started focusing on living. I had bad relationships I had to get out of my system. I had a few businesses to start and then end. I became a mother and that was such a gift! I focused all of my attention on him. Through that joy I eventually found strength to begin a wonderful relationship with my soul mate and now husband. I stepped back and let it be for awhile. Then I felt great about it! Do you really need a label to practice Witchcraft? To pray? To cast? To believe in power? To be in tune with something powerful? No. I can sit on the bare Earth and feel the power and it be enough. I don’t need a labeled path to say I am a Witch.

©2017 Tabatha Land. All rights reserved.

One thought on “And here I am…

  1. Pingback: And here I am… | Dark Hollar Witchcraft

Leave a Reply

